Galaxy Samsung Tab Active 2 as nav device

Everything about following the wiggly line and finding the stuff to the left and right of it

Moderator: Linesman-A

Didado

Galaxy Samsung Tab Active 2 as nav device

Post by Didado » Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:30 am

I just tested this 8 inch Samsung Galaxy Tab Active 2 as a navigation device on the Dutch TET recently. Here's a brief video of it in action.

Because I test gear for a living I have just about every nav device one could have like the Garmin Zumo 590, Montana 680, Tripy, TomTom 550, Cat S60 and S61 smartphones etc etc but nothing compares to using the large screen of a tablet like this.

It is waterproof, dust resistant and can handle a drop. It's mounted in a dedicated Galaxy Tab RAM mount. At the store I just click it out and take it with me in my backpack or whatever.

When I rode the TET UK I had a CAT s61 with the Galileo app zoomed in at 200 meters for an overview of the track and my iPhone 8 with Galileo zoomed in at 50 meters for close up navigation

Worked like a charm but with this tablet I can simulate this with split view for example running OSMand or Google Maps and Galileo at the same time zoomed in at different ratios. Both apps will navigate at the same time.

However, due to the large screen which is so much easier to read I discovered that zoomed in at 100 meters and in portrait orientation I really don't need a splitscreen app in overview because I get so much information as it is. When I'm lost I just zoom out which is super fast compared to say Garmin devices.

The physical Android buttons also work fantastic with gloves and the screen worked with my gloves. Don't know if thick gloves work.

The pen is also great for editing tracks with Plotaroute.com which has a drag mode for plotting routes on mobile devices.