New to gps, questions!

Everything about following the wiggly line and finding the stuff to the left and right of it

Moderator: Linesman-A

mawabo

New to gps, questions!

Post by mawabo » Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:50 pm

Hi there, TET's a great initiative! And I'm gonna make use of it. But: so far I've been using paper maps, compass and the sun to navigate so I am absolute newby with GPS, basecamp etc.
So far I figured out quite a bit through videos and such but I have a couple of questions:
- I see on basecamp that the TET trails are in a specific direction (makes sense), eg from North to South, if I want to follow the track in the opposite direction how do I change the direction?
- I see you guys are mentioning Open street maps, my Garmin zumo 390 has Citynavigator maps for all of europe installed, can I use these as well?
Thanks!
0 x
trunkenpolz

Re: New to gps, questions!

Post by trunkenpolz » Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:40 pm

No need to change a direction for a track. You just follow the line.
0 x
Oleksii
Linesman

Post by Oleksii » Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:35 pm

Hi there and welcome on the forum!
Your Zumo supports multiple maps. Meaning, if you load some extra ones besides Citynavigator just go to Settings and there go to MyMaps, where you will see the list of maps you have on your device and you will be able to switch on/off them.
To download Openstreetmaps go to http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl and follow easy steps
0 x
I adhere to the TET CODE OF CONDUCT (click here)
KTM 640 Adventure
KTM 690 RFR (for sale!)
Lenzwerf

Post by Lenzwerf » Sun Apr 01, 2018 5:33 pm

Hi. You can change the direction of a track. You can change it in basecamp and in your device. You don't need another map, the track is all you need because it doesn't use the road info of your maps. You can even follow a track without a map on some devices.
The other maps can be help full because they are more detailed than standard maps.